Looks Like Whaaat?!

Today I had a conversation with a coworker that made me feel a bit confused. Confused in the way that I didn’t know how I should react. Should I be offended? Or upset? The convo all started with my hair color:

Coworker: “So what is the next color?”
Me: “I am giving my hair a breather. So TBD!”
Coworker: “Ok, well as long as you don’t do rainbow or tie dye”
Me: “Wait, what? Why?”
Coworker: “Because then you will look like you collect comic books.”
Me: “But…I do collect comic books.”
Coworker: “Yeah, but you don’t want to look like you do.”

Now, this coworker is an asshole but a good asshole. He was being honest and I laughed the conversation off. But how am I supposed to feel about that comment? Is he saying that people who collect comic books (aka nerds) look terrible? The more I write about it the more I feel offended. It was such a bully thing to say. What does someone who “collects comic books” look like to him? Really, he is shaming us nerds.

This is what this nerd *points to self* looks like:
Average height and slightly overweight with ever changing hair. My hair has been red, black, purple, pink, blue, green, silver, brown, orange, blonde with my natural color being a sandy blonde. My style ranges from day to day. Tshirt and jeans, legging and tunic, dress…it really depends on my mood. I don’t wear a lot makeup every day because I’m lazy. I wear glasses most of the time and have green/yellow eyes. I have one big tattoo of Howl’s Moving Castle. Do I look like someone who collects comic books? Yes, I do because literally anyone and everyone can look like they “collect comic books.”

The nerd world is full of many different shapes and sizes. There is no standard look, there are just different shades. Just fucking like what you like and fuck anyone who hates on you. Life is too short to listen to judgmental ass hats.

Well, if you have made it this far I owe you a drink! Welcome to Confessions of an Erratic Nerd Girl.

Leave a Reply

